The future is brighter in the sun

Saturday was the first really warm, sunny day in a long time. I spent the afternoon at Golden Gardens Beach, soaking up some much-needed Vitamin D. Being at the beach is one of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday afternoon. I flipped through a magazine and didn’t think about work or stress or money. It was fantastic. And I hope I get to do the same thing next weekend.

Tonight, while walking around Ballard and Fremont, I realized that a lot has improved in the last two years. In June 2008 my salary was about $12,000 less and I lived in a town where Wal-Mart was one of two grocery stores. (And I’d been boycotting the corporation since about 2005.) I was preparing to quit my job, pack all my belongings in my Honda Civic and move halfway across the country. I had a moment of “Oh my god, what am I doing?” somewhere in Montana or Idaho. But I’m so glad that I took the risk. If I hadn’t, my life would be completely different.

Thinking about that time in my life was a good reminder that the things I do every day aren’t necessarily the things I’ll do two months from now, or even in two weeks. This too, shall pass. A friend who hates her retail job just gave her two-week notice and another friend’s sister had a baby about two weeks ago.

Things change, sometimes faster than I think they will. I just hope the sunny weather continues.

One response to “The future is brighter in the sun

  1. Joni

    Indeed, the only constant in life is change – the art of living is in being adaptable to it, & with it, so you are always creating new adventures!

Leave a Reply

